Basketball: What You Missed At FUBA Dinner

(This story is being updated)

The Federation of Uganda Basketball Association rewarded the best performers of the 2018 season.

The new Executive Committee, led by President Nasser Sserunjogi, has officially started their reign on a strong footing, and we all just hope that this is the first of many to come.

The event, first in the last three years, was held at Kabira Country Club’s Ball Room on a Sunday evening.

The event scored highly in terms of fashion, the awarding, the eats and drinks, there was no boring long speeches, convenience in time as the event ended before 9:30 PM when the cake was cut and served.

The day’s emcees Allan Musoke and Brenda Okot gave the event the needed tone.

What may have lacked in entertainment was strongly paid up in Food and drinks.

Brenda Ekon (right) won three awards. FUBA


There was no shortage of glitz and glamour in a room that was filled with too much talent.

Every thing was on point, including those most revealing outfits by Miracle Eaglets Ladies and the stylish designs notably by Denis Balungu.

L-R: Cedric Babu, KIU’s Sudi Ulanga, Denis Balungu and FUBA President Nasser Sserunjogi. FUBA


Cedric Babu, Tennis Association President was the Guest of Honour. Like he confessed, he too didn’t know why he was chosen to be the Guest of honour, and his speech will not live long to be remembered as few paid attention to what he was saying.

National Council of Sports was represented by Ismail Dhakaba Kigongo who spoke on behalf of Bernard Ogwel. In his brief remarks, he reminded the house how lucky they are given that Basketball Federation is one of the six federations that are funded directly by the Government.

“Its been a while since we last held a ceremony like this,” said FUBA President Sserunjogi. “We feel delighted that we are back to the culture of awarding the best.”

Sserunjogi, who was accompanied by his wife on the day, congratulated the athletes, NCS for funding the sport, the media for playing a great role in giving mileage to the sport, the officials and Refs under the technical and competition committee.

A1 Challenge’s Carol – Manager of the season. FUBA

Former FUBA President Ambrose Tashobya was represented by his Wife.

Mohammed Santur (City Oilers Manager) who affirmed that Oilers want to win again, graced the event together with Oilers Club Director Ahmed Hassan.

Uganda Sports Press Association President Patrick Kanyomozi, Members of the old and new FUBA EXCOM, Referee and game officials, Players and Managers from various clubs and Journalists all flocked Kabira’s ball room.

Betway Power – 2018 NBL Runners Up

The Honours

Here is where FUBA scored highest. Taking an extra mile to award most of the contributors to the game was highly necessary.

Tashobya, selected Journalists, top three teams in every division, Referees and officials, and best individual performers (players) were all given gongs or certificates.

On whether the recipients were the right people, will be a debate for another day.

JKL Lady Dolphins. FUBA

The first award to be issued out on the night went to 3×3 franchise (Ambassador of the year) whose success was highlighted by U23 Women team qualifying to the World Cup and Hope Akello being ranked as Number one in that discipline in Africa.

The 3×3 team edged Silverbacks and U17 team (boys and girls).

Jamila Nansikombi (JKL) and James Okello (City Oilers) took home what I will refer to as the best coveted prize of the evening – Playoffs MVP.

Okello, not as many might had envisioned, beat teammates Landry Ndikumana and Jimmy Enabu who also doubles as the USPA best basketballer – Male for 2018.

The electric Brenda Ekon (Nkumba Lady Marines) was on stage on three different occasions – Top scorer, MVP regular season and Outstanding Performer of the year.

Youngster Bbale Fayed who has now joined UCU Canons, received the biggest applause including standing ovation, when he picked his awards for both MVP and top scorer division one – Men.

Mandy Juruni (City Oilers) was named the Coach of the year (NBL), beating opponents Arnold Lando and Emmanuel Kiguyi. Albert Aciko took home that very accolade for the Division one as he helped MUK Sparks achieve promotion.

Enabu (in front) hoists NBL Winners trophy. FUBA

Full List Of Winners

League Top scorers:

*D league – Kutai Gatwech (IUEA) – 253 points
*Div 1 Men – Bbale Fayed (Rez Life) – 301 points
*Div 1 Women – Leticia Awor (MUK Sparks) – 298 points
*NBL Women – Ekone Brenda (Nkuma Lady Marines) – 546 points
*NBL Men – Landry Ndikumana (City Oilers) – 442 points

Coach of the year:
*NBL – Mandy Juruni (City Oilers)
*Lower Div – Albert Aciko (MUK Sparks)

Best Manager
*Carol Kisukye – A1 Challenge

Most improved team
*Women – MUK Sparks
*Men – KU
*D. League – IUEA

Most disciplined team

Most Outstanding performance
*Ekon Brenda – Points per game (Nkumba)

Ambassador of the year
*The 3×3 Franchise

MVP – Regular season

*NBL Men – Landry Ndikumana – City Oilers
*NBL women – Ekon Brenda – Nkumba
*Div 1 Men – Bbale Fayed – Rez Life
*Div 1 Women – Laeticia Awor – Muk Sparks
*D-league men – Kutai Gatwech – IUEA

MVP playoffs
*NBL men – Okello James – City Oilers
*NBL Women – Jamilah Nansikombi

*Div 1 men – Ahmed Kassa – KU Eagles

*Div 1 Women – Naomi Bosibori Oyaro- YMCA

D League – Paco Musole – Nam Blazers

TV – Tuka Brian (Kwese)
Online – Brian Kawalya (ChimpSports, now at SportsNation)
Print – Elvis Ssenono (Daily Monitor)
Radio – Marvin Katungaki (Ssanyu FM)



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *