UPL: SC Villa Fight Back To Draw Express

Thursday, April 11
Express FC 1-1 SC Villa
(Betway Muteesa II Stadium, Wankulukuku)

SC Villa came from a goal down to pick a point off Express FC in a Kampala derby league encounter played at Betway Muteesa II Stadium in Wankulukuku.

The much anticipated brawl ended one all.

Disan Galiwango ran past Moses Kiggundu before firing at the far low post to send the Express fans into frenzy celebrations in the 77th minute.

Shafic Bakaki, a former Express defender, directed a powerful header off Habib Kavuma’s aerial freekick to level matters five minutes later. The defender celebrated his maiden goal for Villa while placing a finger at his mouth to silence his former pay masters.

The draw leaves SC Villa three points adrift of the drop zone with 27 points, before facing Ndejje University who sit below the record winners.

Express FC remain eleventh with 33 points after picking their ninth draw of the campaign. George Ssemwogerere, who looked smart in his all black suit, will face KCCA FC at Lugogo before hosting Kirinya Jinja.

Dull Affair

The game didn’t produce many good moments for the big crowd that flocked the Wankulukuku gates.

However, Villa looked the better side going forward as Express’ left back Arthur Kiggundu at the receiving end of Villa’s attacks. Ssemujju gave his former team some hard time forcing Tony Kyamera into two early saves.

Charles Lwanga also came close but his looped effort – with Keeper Kyamera who was standing miles off his line – went over the bar.

Express struggled to break Villa’s defence despite having Brian Umony and Eric Kambale both starting – Birungi had a shot from outside the box go wide, and later in the second half beat the keeper but was denied by Bakaki.

Kambale arrived late to miss Disan’s lofty cross, after Disan had negotiated past Keeper Yusuf Wasswa when the game was still goalless.

Man of the Match – David Owori

Teams Used
Tony Kyamera, Arthur Kiggundu, John Revita, Charles Musoke, Shafic Kakeeto, Disan Galiwango, Michael Birungi, Badru Nsubuga, Pius Mbidde, Eric Kambale, Brian Umony.

Mathias Muwanga, Sadiq Ssekyembe, Ibrahim Kayiwa, Mubarak Nsubuga, Davis Mayanja, Charles Lubega, Frank Zaga Tumwesigye.

SC Villa
Yusuf Wasswa, Habib Kavuma, Moses Kiggundu, Shafic Kagimu, John Adriko, Ambrose Kirya, Albert Mugisa, Joseph Ssemujju, David Owori, Ronald Magwali, Charles Lwanga.

Samuel Kivumbi, Suleiman Majanjalo, Michael Sserumaga, Pius Wangi, Ema Kalyowa, Asuman Alishe, Ashraf Mandela

Referee – Brian Miiro Nsubuga
Assistants – Mark Ssonko and Dick Okello
Fourth Official – Ali Sabira
Ref Assessor – Ali Wasswa



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *