UPL: KCCA Crowned 2018-19 Champions

Saturday, May 4
*KCCA 6-1 Maroons
*Bright Stars 6-1 Paidha Black Angels
*Kirinya Jinja 0-0 Ndejje University
*Mbarara City 2-0 Police
*Vipers SC 1-0 BUL FC
*Onduparaka FC 0-0  Express FC
*Tooro United 0-0 URA FC
*SC Villa 6-0 Nyamityobora FC

KCCA were handed their Uganda Premier League title on Saturday, winning it for the 13th time and now sit second behind SC Villa who have won it for a record 16th time.

The ‘Garbage Collectors’ marked the coronation day with a 6-1 thrashing of Maroons FC at StarTimes Stadium, Lugogo.

Patrick Kaddu grabbed a brace before Muzamir Mutyaba made it 3-0 at the break. Mike Mutebi’s charges continued to go at their opponents and they were leafing 6-0 before the hour mark with goals coming from Allan Okello, Allan Kyambadde and Herbert Achai.

Seif Batte scored in the 57th minute for Maroons and that proved to be the last for the game.

KCCA FC players warming up.

KCCA who takes the crown from SC Vipers ends the season with 66 points, seven behind Vipers on 59. KCCA end with 19 wins, nine draws and two losses.

The achievement gives KCCA FC a chance to represent Uganda at the CAF Champions league.

In other matches, Vipers needed Brian Nkuubi’s goal to overcome BUL FC. URA FC drew goalless with Tooro to finish third, eight points behind Vipers in second.

Express FC played out a goalless draw with Onduparaka in Arua while SC Villa proved a handful for Nyamityobora with a 6-0 win. Bright Stars also put six past Paidha in a 6-1 affair. Police lost away to Mbarara 2-0 as Ndejje and Kirinya played out a goalless draw.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *