CECAFA Kagame Cup Dates Confirmed

The Council of Eastern and Central Africa Associations (CECAFA) has confirmed the dates for this year’s 2019.

This will take place in Kigali, Rwanda scheduled for July 7-21.

This overrides the recent dates which suggested that it was to kickoff on July 26th 2019.

Clubs that won their domestic league from Cecafa region are expected to take part. StarTimes Premier League champions KCCA FC are expected to represent Uganda.

KCCA FC team that finished third in 2015. Courtesy photo

However, the tournament comes at a time when the AFCON will still be ongoing. This year’s AFCON runs from June 21 through July 19.

KCCA FC won this tourney once – In 1978, the first Ugandan club to win it – beating Simba SC of Tanzania 3-2 in penalties after a barren draw.

SC Villa won it in 1987 (beat El Merriekh), 2003 (beat Simba) and 2005 (beat APR). Police FC are the last club from Uganda to be crowned Kagame club champions when they beat Tanzania’s Moro in 2006.

Tanzania’s Azam are the defending champions after beating Simba. Vipers were knocked out by Gor Mahia at Quarters.

It should be noted that CECAFA has been known as the Kagame Interclub Cup from 2002, when Rwanda’s premier Paul Kagame began sponsoring the tourney.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *