Cricket: Blend Of Proven, Rising Stars Make Uganda Squad For Memorial Tourney

Uganda Cricket Association has named a 16 player squad, including reserves, that will represent the country at the Genocide Cricket Memorial Tourney set in Rwanda from June 16-23.

It should be noted that Uganda has always taken a young squad of girls that stood out in the UCA Girls Schools Cricket Week since the tourney started in 2013.

However, with the tournament gaining an ICC T20 status, the association has this time opted for a mix of senior players with rising stars to put up a formidable challenge.

New youngsters from Olila High School have made the fray while nine of the Lady Cricket Cranes players that played in Victoria Tri Series have made the cut.

Uganda will be putting their trust in Aziz Damani’s pair Rita Musamali and Immaculate Nakisuyi, with the latter returning to Rwanda after being part of 2018’s contingent.

Immaculate Nakisuyi. Courtesy photo

Damalie Busingye, Joyce Mary Apio, Stephanie Nampina among others will give other countries like Rwanda and Mali a big run for their money.

All-rounder Sarah Walaza Nyende, wicketkeeper and batter Esther Ilukor and medium pacer Evelyn Anyipo are some of the other stars on the team.

Recent developments from Kenya have confirmed that their home team will not be making the trip to Rwanda for reasons not yet revealed – Kenya are the defending champions.

If the above comes to pass, Uganda will be strong favourites to clinch their third title after triumphing in 2014 and 2016.

The Players:

Rita Musamali (Aziz Damani), Immaculate Nakisuyi (Aziz Damani) Joyce Mary Apio (Olila High School), Stephannie Nampiina (Aziz Damani), Esther Ilukor (Olila High), Damalie Busingye (Olila High), Evelyn Anyipo (Soroti Challengers), Sarah Walaza (Jinja SS), Mary Nyende Kagoya (Aziz Damani), Allako Proscovia (Olila High), Hildred Anyingo (Olila High), Susan Kakai (Jinja SS), Gloria Obukor (Olila High), Christine Anayo (Light SS).

Shubaiker Naigaga (Jinja SS), Janet Nakiranda (Victoria High).

Technical Team
Head Coach – Michael Grace Ndiko
Assistant – Ivan Kakande
Physiotherapist – Habiba Kulusumu
Team Manager – Lwiza Nabulwala



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *