Coach Alex Isabirye Remains Tight-Lipped Over Villa Speculation

SC Villa is in quest to fill their managerial gap before the start of the 2019/20 season that is expected to kickoff in September.

The club parted ways with Coach Douglas Bamweyana after a troubled season that saw the club beat the drop towards the end of the season – Villa finished 12th, two places above relegation with 34 points from 30 games.

Also read – Furious Bamweyana Blames SC Villa’s Internal Wrangles

Many coaches have been lined up to fill the vacant hot seat but Alex Isabirye Musongola still remains the bookies’ favourites.

When approached by the-sportsnation to comment about the ongoing developments, the tactician stayed tight lipped.

“I can’t say anything at the moment regarding the move but I will fill you in in case anything official pops up,” Isabirye assured this website.

Tight-lipped Alex. Courtesy photo

Currently, Isabirye is a Technical director at Nyamityobora after joining the then league team on a three year deal.

He has held coaching stints at BUL FC, URA FC, Kyetume FC, Kirinya JInja SS, Nyamityobora and Soana FC.

If all comes to pass, Isabirye will be tasked to reclaim Villa’s last glory that has seen the club take 15 years without tasting league glory. The 16 time record league winners last won the UPL in 2004. They however lifted the Uganda cup in 2015.

Ibrahim Kirya, who left Wakiso Giants after leading the side to the promised land, is also in contention to take the job.

Kirya, popularly known as Uchumi, turned down this job a year back to join the Wakiso money-bags.

He has been at SC Villa under two spells – in 2006 and 2015-16 seasons.

Since 2000, SC Villa has undergone 21 managerial changes.

Villa’s Coaches in the 2000 era:

*Paul Edwin Hasule (1998-2001)
*Paul Nkata (2001)
*Moses Basena (2002)
*Mulutin Sredojevic (2002-2004)
*Sam Timbe (2004–2006)
*Ibrahim Kirya (2006)
*Asuman Lubowa (2006–2008)
*Sula Kato (2008-2010)
*Zivojnov Srdjan (2010–2011)
*Mike Hillary Mutebi (2011-2012)
*Paul Nkata (2012-2013)
*Hussein Mbalangu (2013)
*Steven Bogere (2013-2014)
*Sam Ssimbwa (2014–2015)
*Antonio Flores (2015)
*Ibrahim Kirya (2015-2016)
*Deo Sserwadda (2016)
*Shafik Bisaso (2016–2017)
*Wasswa Bbossa (2017-2018)
*Moses Basena (2018)
*Douglas D. Bamweyana (2018-2019



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *