AFCON: Must Know Ahead Of Round Of 16

Africa News

Twenty-four teams made it to Egypt but after 12 days of action, eight have to crashed out of the competition leaving sixteen others to continue with the dream of becoming champions.

The two top teams from each group automatically qualified for the first knockout stage i.e. the round of 16 stage, with the other four being the third best teams across the groups.

Action resumes on Friday (July 5) when the first two games of the round of 16 are played. Two games will be played on the 6th, 7th and 8th to determine the eight quarter finalists.

How did the teams qualify?
GROUP A: Egypt (1st) – Uganda (2nd) – DR Congo (Best third)
GROUP B: Madagascar (1st) – Nigeria (2nd) – Guinea (Best third)
GROUP C: Algeria (1st) – Senegal (2nd)
GROUP D: Morocco (1st) – Ivory Coast (2nd) – South Africa (Best third)
GROUP E: Mali (1st) – Tunisia (2nd)
GROUP F: Ghana (1st) – Cameroon (2nd) – Benin (Best third)

Eight teams that crashed out in alphabetical order

  • Angola – Burundi – Guinea-Bissau – Kenya – Mauritania – Namibia – Tanzania – Zimbabwe

Round of 16 Fixture
July 5: Uganda vs. Senegal in Cairo

July 5: Morocco vs. Benin in Cairo

July 6: Egypt vs. South Africa in Cairo

July 6: Nigeria vs. Cameroon in Alexandria



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *