Netball World Cup: False Start For Africa’s Malawi

Africa Teams playing on Friday
*New Zealand 64-45 Malawi
*Zimbabwe Vs Sri Lanka
*South Africa Vs Trinidad and Tobago
*England Vs Uganda

The Netball World Cup got underway on Friday 12 July, in the city of Liverpool, England.

One of African representatives Malawi got off to a false start with a 64-45 loss to giants New Zealand.

It should be noted that the African continent is represented by four teams – Uganda, Malawi, South Africa and Zimbabwe.

Also Read: Can Uganda Stop England?

The Silver Ferns of New Zealand managed to take their revenge against Malawi who are ranked No.9 in the world.

The Ferns had suffered an embarrassing 57-53 loss to Malawi at last April’s Commonwealth Games.

New Zealand who led 32-17 at halftime on their way to an emphatic win, will now face Barbados on Saturday while Malawi who missed star shooter Mwai Kumwenda will face Singapore.

Over the course of the one week long tournament that ends on the 21 of July, 16 teams will compete to take the crown of World Champions, that is currently held by the Australia Diamonds.


July 12: New Zealand vs Malawi

July 12: Barbados vs Singapore

July 12: Australia vs Northern Ireland

July 12: Zimbabwe vs Sri Lanka

July 12: Jamaica vs Fiji

July 12: South Africa vs Trinidad and Tobago

July 12: England vs Uganda

July 12: Scotland vs Samoa

July 13: Australia vs Zimbabwe

July 13: Northern Ireland vs Sri Lanka

July 13: New Zealand vs Barbados

July 13: Malawi vs Singapore

July 13: England vs Scotland

July 13: Uganda vs Samoa

July 13: Jamaica vs Trinidad and Tobago

July 13: South Africa vs Fiji

July 14: New Zealand vs Singapore

July 14: Malawi vs Barbados

July 14: England vs Samoa

July 14: Uganda vs Scotland

July 14: Australia vs Sri Lanka

July 14: Northern Ireland vs Zimbabwe

July 14: Jamaica vs South Africa

July 14: Trinidad and Tobago vs Fiji



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *