2021 AFCON Qualifiers: Uganda Cranes Get ‘Easy’ Opponents

Uganda Cranes have learnt their opponents for the coming 2021 Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers after the draw held on Thursday night.

The draw held at Aida Ballroom Cairo Marriott Hotel, Zamalek, has seen Uganda avoid all the Arab countries and any other powerhouse in Pot A like Cameroon, Senegal, Ghana, Nigeria.

Uganda have been pitted in group B alongside Burkina Faso, Malawi and winner between South Sudan & Seychelles.

The first two teams in each group at the end of the qualifying round, will qualify for the 2021 Nations cup which will be hosted in Cameroon.

The Cranes who were pitted in pot 2 prior to the draw, will fancy their chances of finishing atop of the group but will face strong competition from Burkina Faso who are ranked number 59 in the World according to FIFA June rankings.

However, Burkina Faso have never won the Africa Cup of Nations – Their best ever finish in the tournament was the 2013 edition, where they reached the final.

These AFCON qualifiers will start on 11-19 November 2019 before the last leg on 9-17 November 2019.

Uganda, who reached AFCON 2019 knockout stage for the first time in 41 years, will be seeking to return to the continental stage for the third time in a row.

Uganda has been at the continental stage seven times and will be aiming for an eighth – 1962, 1968, 1974, 1976, 1978, 2017, 2019.

Neighbours Kenya are in group G alongside Egypt, Togo and Comoros.

Tanzania in L with Tunisia, Libya and Equatorial Guinea. Rwanda will tussle it out with Cameroon, Cape Verde and Mozambique.

The Groups In Full – Top Two Teams Qualify.

Group A – Mali, Guinea, Namibia, Liberia Or Chad
Group B – Burkina Faso, Uganda, Malawi, South Sudan Or Seychelles
Group C – Ghana, South Africa, Sudan, Mauritius Or Sao Tome e Principe
Group D – DR Congo, Gabon, Angola, Djibouti Or The Gambia
Group E – Morocco, Mauritania, Central African Republic, Burundi
Group F – Cameroon, Cape Verde Islands, Rwanda, Mozambique
Group G – Egypt, Kenya, Togo, Comoros Islands,
Group H – Algeria, Zambia, Zimbabwe, Botswana
Group I – Senegal, Congo, Guinea Bissau, Eswatini
Group J – Tunisia, Libya, Equatorial Guinea, Tanzania
Group K – Cote D’Ivoire, Niger, Madagascar, Ethiopia
Group L – Nigeria, Benin, Sierra Leone, Lesotho

This story is being updated



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *