CECAFA: KCCA FC Clinch Title To End 41-Year Jinx

Sunday, July 21
*Azam FC 0-1 KCCA FC

KCCA FC managed to break their 41 year wait to win the CECAFA Kagame Cup.

The Uganda Premier League side defeated defending champions Azam FC 1-0 in a close final played at Kigali Stadium, Nyamirambo.

Left back Mustafa Kizza scored the all important goal at the hour mark to send a few traveling KCCA fans into wild celebrations.

Mustafa Kizza (2nd left). Kwizera photo

The Lugogo based side had last won the regional competition in 1978 when the beat Simba SC 3-2 in penalties.

Mike Mutebi’s side dominated proceedings but were blunt especially in the first half before Kizza scored in the 62nd minute.

Allan Okello scored in the 6th minute but the referee cancelled the goal for a foul in the build up.

Sadat Anaku had his header go wide off Kizza’s lofty freekick while also Azam goalkeeper Adam Razak kept out efforts from Mutyaba and Anaku as KCCA asked questions.

To reach this stage, KCCA FC had topped a group that had Azam FC, Mukura and Bandari. The side, at the knockout, eliminated Rayon Sports and Green Eagles at the quarters and semis respectively.

KCCA FC take home $30000 as prize money. This is the club’s second CECAFA club cup in history. SC Villa and Police FC are the other Uganda sides to have won it.

Teams Used

Azam FC
Razak Abalora, Bruce Kangwa, Oscar Masai, Yakub Mohamed, Daniel Amoha, Salmin Iddi Hoza, Abdalah Masquid, IDD Selemani, Paul Peter, Obrey Chirwa, Abdul Haji

Charles Lukwago, Mustafa Kizza, Peter Magambo, Samuel Kato, Sadat Anaku, Herbert Achai, Muzamir Mutyaba, Gift Ali, Mike Mutyaba, Ramathan Musa, Allan Okello



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *