Roke 7s: Betway Kobs, Black Pirates Take Rivalry To Mbale

Betway Kobs and Black Pirates will renew their rivalry as the Roke Telkom National Rugby sevens series moves to Mbale.

The sixth circuit of this year’s series is to be held on Saturday at the Busamaga Rugby grounds.

This is the new addition on the calendar, just like the recent Masaka event as the Uganda Rugby Union seek to take the game to all parts of the country.

Pirates pummeled Kobs 38-05 to clinch the Coronation Circuit, their second win this season – the other is Buddu 7s (Masaka).

Kobs now lead Pirates by just three points having won the Buffaloes 7s, Rujumba 7s and Mileke 7s. Just three points separate leaders Kobs and Pirates.

It remains to be known whether other teams like Heathens, Buffaloes, Jinja Hippos or Warriors will pose strong challenge to the throne.

The Squads For The Top Two

Betway Kobs : 1.Alhaji Manano 2.Aaron Jurua 3.Pius Ogena 4.Edgar Seruwagi 5.James Ijongat 6.Faraji Odugo 7.Conrad Mukwaya 8.Joseph Aredo 9.Arinaitwe Karim 10.Mark Osuna 11.Ian Munyani 12.Nobert Okeny 13.Adrian Kasito

1.Isaac Massa 2.William Mucunguzi 3.Richard Odokere 4.Ivan Cadri 5.Pius Mwanje 6.Kelvin Balagadde 7.Mohammed Haruna 8.Timothy Kisiga 9.Raymond Emanzi 10.Ivan Magomu 11.Joshua Engwau 12.Conrad Wanyama 13.Alvin Nkamba

Table – Top 6

  1. Kobs 104
  2. Pirates 101
  3. Heathens 76
  4. Buffaloes 72
  5. Jinja Hippos 63
  6. Dusu Pay Warriors 55

Top Try Scorers

  1. Joseph Aredo (Kobs) – 16
  2. Timothy Odong (Pirates) – 16
  3. Norbert Okeny (Kobs) – 15
  4. Isaac Massa (Pirates) – 15
  5. Desire Ayera (Pirates) – 15

Still To Come
August 17 – Jinja 7s at Dam Waters

August 24 – Edward Kitaka Memorial (Kobs) at Legends



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *