Sadik Nasiwu Beats Hadijja Namanda To Volleyball Presidency

Sadik Nasiwu beat incumbent Hadijja Namanda to return as the new Uganda Volleyball Federation President.

Namanda has been at the helm since January 2017 when she succeeded Nasiwu who had held the seat for eight years.

On Sunday, during the Elective Assembly at Hockey Grounds in Lugogo, Nasiwu emerged the winner with a landslide victory.

Nasiwu, an Internal Auditor at FIVB and Executive Member at UOC, got 226 votes against Eddie Okila’s 27 and Namanda’s 20.

National Council of Sports Chairman Donald Rukare and Assistant General Secretary David Katende witnessed the UVF elections.

Abdallah Kiggundu was voted the first Vice President when he beat Anthony Ashaba and Stephen Waiswa.

Salma Kairungi (129 votes) managed to overcome close rival Hellenic Nakimuli (115) to second vice while Faridah Nalinya picked just 38 to finish third.

Uganda Volleyball Federation Committee:

President – Sadik Nasiwu

1st Vice President – Abdallah Kiggundu

2nd Vice President Salma Kairungi Otika

General Secretary – Godwin Nakaana Ssenyondo

Assistant General Secretary – Eunice Nuwabigaba

Treasurer – Joseph Odong

Premier Club Representatives – Levian Ashaba, Cisse Musiime, Kenneth Wakibi



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *