Express FC Lose Ground In Title Race

Monday, February 7
Bright stars 0-0 Express FC

Express FC were held to a goalless draw by hosts Bright stars in a Uganda Premier League game played at the Kavumba recreational centre.

The result sees Express lose ground in title race as the defending champions fail to close down leaders Vipers.

Express are fourth with 28 points, five below Vipers who face URA FC.

It’s another disappointing result for the Red Eagles who saw the Stars score a late equaliser at Wankulukuku in the reverse fixture.

At Kavumba, Bright Stars were the better side in the first stanza but failed to sustain their attacks and also missed a couple of chances.

Emmanuel Loki skewed wide in the 9th minute, skipper Nelson Ssenkatuuka could have done better with Andrew Kaggwa’s cross but opted to go for a low volley.

Cleophas Fiat saw his long range effort go wide at the half-hour mark.

The Red Eagles, missing star man Eric Kambale, also had a fair share of chances including one fluffed by Martin Kiiza who sent his free kick above the cross bar.

In the 51st minute of the game, Express FC were gifted with a goal scoring opportunity as defender Allan Katwe fumbled with a cross but a shot from George Ssenkaaba was easily saved by Simon Tamale for a corner.

Bright stars received a golden opportunity to kill off the game as Joseph Janjali set up Emmanuel Loki for a one on one with Dennis Otim but his shot hit the cross bar and Janjali’s rebound header went above.

Bright stars now move to 12 points in 16 games as they sit 14th on the table whereas Express FC are now level with third placed URA FC on 28 points but remain fourth due to goal difference.

What Next
Bright stars now turn focus onto their visit to SC Villa as Express FC just Tooro united on matchday 17.

How both lined up

Bright Stars XI
Simon Tamale (GK), Allan Katwe, Derrick Ngobi, Andrew Kaggwa, Andrew Semayange, Fiat Cleophas, Marvin Youngman, Nelson Senkatuka, Omonyi Denis Kaka, Ibrahim Kasinde, Emmanuel Loki.

Express FC XI
Dennis Otim (GK) , Deus Bukenya, Sadiq Ssekyembe, Isa Lumu, Murushid Juuko, Mahad Yaya, John Byabakama, Daniel Shabena, Charles Musiige, George Ssenkaba, Martin Kizza



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *