CECAFA Women: Nabweteme Bags Brace As Uganda Win Maiden Title

Saturday, June 11
•Final: Uganda 3-1 Burundi
•3rd: Tanzania 1-2 Ethiopia

Uganda are the 2022 CECAFA Women Championship after a deserved 3-1 win over Burundi in a final played at FUFA Technical Centre in Njeru.

Sandra Nabweteme scored a brace including an early opener in the second minute to set the pace.

Fazillah Ikwaput scored in between of Nabweteme’s brace to take her tally to six goals.

Joelle Bukuru brought one back for Burundi in the 49th minute but it proved just a consolation.

Crested Cranes XI

It’s the first CECAFA Women Championship title for Uganda who finish the tournament having conceded two goals, both coming against Burundi.

Uganda had earlier beaten Burundi 4-1 in their final Group A game.

Aisha Nantongo sent a long ball forward which was put in Nabweteme’s path by Hassifa Nassuna with the softest of touches, and Nabweteme coolly bundled home.

Ikwaput then doubled the lead before halftime with a neat finish after beating a defender and rounding off the goalkeeper.

But Bukuru scored from outside the box to give Burundi a fighting stance.

Hassifa Nassuna and Sandra Nabweteme. Photo by Don Mugabi

And in the added time, Nabweteme put the icing on the cake when she benefited from an Ethiopian defender mistake who made mess of a long ball into her box.

The win is a confidence boost for the Crested Cranes ahead of their Women AFCON adventure in Morocco.

Hassifa Nassuna in action

Individual Awards:
•Best Goalkeeper – Daisy Nakaziro (Uganda)
•Top Scorer – Opa Clement (Tanzania) – 7 goals
•MVP – Fazillah Ikwaput (Uganda)
•Fair Play Award – Tanzania

Past Winners:

Year (Host) – Winner
•1986 (Zanzibar) – Zanzibar
•2016 (Uganda) – Tanzania
•2018 (Rwanda) – Tanzania
•2019 (Tanzania) – Kenya
2022 (Uganda) – Uganda

Crested Cranes Lineup

Starting XI – Daisy Nakaziro, Sumaya Komuntale, Aisha Nantongo, Margaret Kunihira, Asia Nakibuuka, Joan Nabirye, Hassifa Nassuna, Shamirah Nalugya, Sandra Nabweteme, Zainah Nandede, Fazilah Ikwaput

Substitutes – Daphine Nyayenga, Phionah Nabbumba, Lukia Namubiru, Sheebah Zalwango, Margaret Kunihira, Natasha Shirazi, Lilian Mutuuzo, Riticia Nabbosa, Juliet Nalukenge



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *