CAF Awards Back – Date, Host Confirmed


African Football governing body, CAF, has confirmed the return of CAF Awards – The event that celebrates the excellence of African Football.

The CAF Awards 2022, will be held on Thursday, 21 July 2022 in Morocco, two days before the Women AFCON final.

The awards were last held in 2019 when Sadio Mane beat Mo Salah and Riyad Mahrez to the best African Footballer of the Year.

Asisat Oshoala of Nigeria was named the Best Female Footballer of the year then during the Awards held in Hurghada in Egypt.

Sadio Mane (left) had an outstanding season. Courtesy photo

The past two editions – 2020 and 2021 – have not been held due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

The biggest change this time is the introduction of Interclubs Women Player of the Year after the success of the CAF Women’s Champions League.

Sadio Mane who helped Senegal win the AFCON, qualified to the World Cup and also had a stellar season with Liverpool, will be the favourite to defend his crown – African Footballer of the Year.

A couple of other categories – Interclub Player of the Year, Young Player of the Year, National Team of the Year, Coach of the Year, Club of the Year, Goal of the Year and others will be given out.

CAF has stated that the period under review is from September 2021 until June 2022.

The winners will be decided by votes from captains and coaches of the Member Associations, selected journalists, CAF Technical Study Group and CAF Legends.

CAF African player of the Year – Previous Winners

1992 – Abedi Pele (Ghana)
1993 – Not Held
1994 – Emmanuel Amunike (Nigeria)
1995 – George Weah (Liberia)
1996 – Nwankwo Kanu (Nigeria)
1997 – Victor Ikpeba (Nigeria)
1998 – Mustapha Hadji (Morocco)
1999 – Nwankwo Kanu (Nigeria)
2000 – Patrick Mboma (Cameroon)
2001 – El Hadji Diouf (Senegal)
2002 – El Hadji Diouf (Senegal)
2003 – Samuel Eto’o (Cameroon)
2004 – Samuel Eto’o (Cameroon)
2005 – Samuel Eto’o (Cameroon)
2006 – Didier Drogba (Ivory Coast)
2007 – Fredrick Kanoute (Mali)
2008 – Emmanuel Adebayor (Togo)
2009 – Didier Drogba (Ivory Coast)
2010 – Samuel Eto’o (Cameroon)
2011 – Yaya Toure (Ivory Coast)
2012 – Yaya Toure (Ivory Coast)
2013 – Yaya Toure (Ivory Coast)
2014 – Yaya Toure (Ivory Coast)
2015 – Pierre Aubameyang (Gabon)
2016 – Riyad Mahrez (Egypt)
2017 – Mo Salah (Egypt)
2018 – Mo Salah (Egypt)
2019 – Sadio Mane (Senegal)
2020 – Not Held
2021 – Not Held
2022 – ??



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *