Lutaaya Hits Ton As Itanda Kayakers Win Men’s T20 League

Sunday, January 29
Itanda Kayakers – 189/3
Bujjagali Rafters – 160/10 (19.2/20 ov)
*Kayakers win by 29 runs

Youngster Ronald Lutaaya scored a blistering century to spur Itanda Kayakers past Bujjagali Rafters and clinch the inaugural Waterfalls Men’s T20 League.

When sent in to open for Kayakers, Lutaaya showed composure and aggressiveness to knock 116 off 65 balls.

His innings was studded with six fours and nine sixes as he set Lugogo Cricket oval ablaze.

He hit National team captain Brian Masaba thrice over the ropes in the 13th over.

And an over late, Henry Ssenyondo was the victim, as he squeezed two successive sixes as Kayakers built a good tally.

He was later bowled by Pius Oluka with 4 runs left in the last over, and he walked off amidst a standing ovation from a sizeable crowd.

Uganda Kayakers champions

“I am excited for this, it has not been easy though but all thanks to hard work and the more time I have spent on the Cricket oval,” Lutaaya said afterwards.

“My team kept me going. I went with the team plan and I am happy that I managed to execute it to the dot. The century was a bonus to me. The runs were for the team.”

On his plans walking, Lutaaya stated: “I went there to stick to the wicket, the team also wanted me to stay there. I wanted to get the singles at every opportunity and the boundaries came as bonuses.”

Lutaaya was consequently named man of the match and Most Valuable Player (MVP) of the tournament.

He was joined by an excited and emotional mother, Deziranta Namigadde, on the podium to collect the accolades.

Lutaaya reflected on the moment: “It was a special moment. My mother is very supportive and that doesn’t stop at home.”

Emotional – Lutaaya (right) joined by his Mother (middle)

Anas Baig scored 27 and Riazat Ali Shah added an unbeaten 25 as Kayakers set a lofty 189 for the fall of three wickets.

Needing 190 to win in 20 overs, Bujjagali Rafters had an awful start when they slipped to 14/2 when Ignace Ntirenganya bowled Falak Sher before sending Karabo Motlhanka to early shower with a duck, in success deliveries.

Roger Mukasa (38) looked to have steadied the ship but his partnership with Robinson Obuya (26) was later broken to leave the side reeling.

Juma Miyagi failed to live to the expectations after he was caught by Lutaaya on his attempt to beat Alpesh Ramjan with power.

Brian Masaba hit 33 off 24 but when Ismael Munir was run out with 43, with him went Rafters faint hopes.

And the side finished with 160, 29 runs short of a set target.

Lutaaya hit a 58-ball century

The four-day tournament featured three teams – including Sippi trekkers – who played each other twice until Saturday where the top two faced off in Sunday’s final.

The tournament preceded the Women’s edition which was won by Sipi.

Tournament director Davis Karashani commended the fans, players, sponsors and other stakeholders.

“The eight-days of cricket action speaks for themselves and for us as a committee, we want this product to continue growing from strength to strength.”

“We thank our sponsors and everyone who believed in this product.”

Players Used:

Bujjagali Rafters Players – Brian Masaba, Cyrus Kakuru, Falak Sher, Henry Ssenyondo, Juma Miyagi, Karabo Motlhanka, Munir Ismael, Pius Oloka, Robinson Obuya, Roger Mukasa, Siraje Nsubuga

Itanda Kayakers – Alpesh Ramjani, Anas Baig, Bilal Hassan, Donex Kansonkho, Ignace Ntirenganya, Joseph Baguma, Pascal Murungi, Riazat Ali Shah, Ronald Lutaaya, Steven Wabwose, Waseem Butt



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *