Senkatuka’s Stunner Denies URA

Thursday, September 28
*Bright Stars 1-1 URA

Nelson Senkatuka scored a stunning goal, leveling the match for Bright Stars and denying URA maximum points at Kavumba during match-day three of the Uganda Premier League.

URA appeared to be on track for maximum points after Ivan Ahimbisibwe’s early header.

However, Senkatuka equalized with a remarkable strike, redirecting a long ball from Innocent Kitimbo that had eluded the URA defense and found the back of Denis Otim’s net.

The pitch conditions deteriorated significantly in the second half due to heavy rain, affecting ball movement. Despite this, Bright Stars remained competitive, and they rightfully earned a point.

They conceded a goal too easily when Laban Tibita’s well-delivered corner eluded goalkeeper Hassan Matovu, allowing Ahimbisibwe to head in from point-blank range.

Senkatuka’s goal marked the first time Denis Otim had conceded a goal this season.

Bright Stars will regret missed opportunities earlier in the game, such as David Kizza’s shot over the bar and John Kokas heading wide from Yasin Mugume’s cross.

Kakande Samuel missed a chance after a defensive error from Hudu Mulikyi, shooting straight at the goalkeeper instead of passing to an unmarked Senkatuka.

Senkatuka had another chance, set up by Ivan Irinimbabazi, but his low shot was easily blocked by the goalkeeper.

After taking the lead, URA had opportunities to increase their lead, but Saidi Kyeyune, Norman Namanya, Moses Aliro, and Tibiita lacked clinical finishing.

As a result of the draw, Bright Stars have accumulated two points in three matches, while URA has secured five points.

What Next

They will both return to action on Saturday 21st October, Bright Stars will take on Express at Wankulukuku stadium while URA will host Wakiso Giants at Mehta Stadium.

How they started

Bright Stars XI: Hassan Matovu (GK), Kitimbo Innocent, Denis Kaka Omony, Kato Nemeyimana, Warren Buule, Fiat Cleophas, Ivan Irinimbabazi, Alou John Kokas, David Kiiza, Nelson Senkatuka, Yasin Mugume.

URA XI: Denis Otim (GK), Enock Walusimbi, Eric Ssenjobe, Hudu Mulikyi, Najib Fesali, Hassan Kalega, Saidi Kyeyune, Laban Tibita, Namanya Norman, Ivan Ahimbisibwe, Moses Aliro.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *