Late Goals Highlight Maroons, URA Draw

Friday, October 27
*Maroons 1-1 URA

Young star Darius Ojok delivered a late, dramatic finish, equalizing with a header in the 93rd minute to salvage a point for Maroons.

Emmanuel Okech’s 86th-minute goal seemed to secure the win for URA at Luzira.

In terms of scoring opportunities, it was a cagey game with both teams struggling in each other’s final third.

When substitute Okech poked in the opener in the 86th minute from Joshua Lubwana’s well-curled cross, it appeared that the game was decided.

In the five additional minutes, Ojok headed Solomon Walusimbi’s cross into the far left corner, securing a point for the hosts, who remain winless at home this season.

This marks the second consecutive draw for the hosts at home and the third consecutive draw for the visitors, maintaining their unbeaten run of the season but extending their winless streak away from home.

The curse of being winless against URA at Luzira for Maroons continues as the fixture produces a fifth straight draw.

Both teams had a slow start, and the only clear chances of the first half landed to Ojok, who opted for power in front of an empty net, but his attempt went sky-high.

The visitors’ only chance came to Tibiita, whose shot from a loose ball was expertly fingertipped by goalkeeper Hanington Ssebwalunyo into a corner kick.

The second half was more open, but the Visitors dominated possession without posing many threats.

Keeper Ssebwalunyo was called into action several times, blocking Okech’s powerful long-range effort after diving to deny Laban Tabita’s well-placed shot.

Ssebwalunyo was awarded the Man of the Match, which he dedicated to the late Timothy Komakech, the Late coach of Ndejje University, who passed away on Wednesday.

As it stands, Maroons (7th) will travel to face Kitara FC in their next fixture, while URA (6th) will visit Njeru to take on BUL.

Players Used

Maroons – Hannington Ssebwalunyo, innocent Biyika,David Ndihabwe, Ronald Orombi(Ogama Baden),Nicholas Kigozi, Abraham Tusibira(Solomon Walusimbi), Patrick Bayiga,Fred Amaku,Jacob Okao, Darius Ojok, Micheal Etrude(Isaac Mpagi)

URA – Denis Otim, James Begisa, Eric Ssenjobe, Joshua Lubwama, Hudu Mulikyi, Hassan Kalega(Kabonge), Najib Fasali, Laban Tibita, Ivan Ahimbisibwe (Saidi Kyeyune)Moses Aliro (Emmanuel Oketch),Vianne Ssekajugo(Amisi Bangwani),Norman Namanya(Joseph Ssemuju)



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *