Gaddafi Stun NEC At Lugogo

Wednesday, November 1
*NEC 0-3 Gaddafi
*Kitara 0-1Maroons
*Busoga United 0-1 UPDF

Gaddafi secured a dominant 3-0 victory against NEC FC in a league match at the Omondi Stadium Lugogo on Wednesday.

Amos Kirya scored a brace while NEC goalkeeper fumbled with Ronald Bithum’s effort, as Gaddafi silenced the hosts.

NEC FC, previously triumphant against KCCA FC at the same venue last week, displayed a lackluster performance against Gaddafi, failing to replicate their earlier success.

Right from the start, the visitors exhibited brilliance, with Kirya giving them a deserving lead in the 9th minute, tapping in from a cut-back pass by Steven Munguchi.

The second goal saw NEC’s goalie, Samson Kirya, mishandling Ronald Bithum’s effort, further aiding Gaddafi’s advantage.

Struggling to create significant opportunities in the first half, NEC saw missed chances from Cromwell Rwothomio and a lack of impact from veteran Striker Geoffrey Sserunkuma before his substitution.

The hosts continued to falter in the final third during the second half, failing to challenge Gaddafi’s resolute defense.

Despite substitutions, including Brian Kayanja’s introduction, Gaddafi’s solid defensive line, marshaled by Ibrahim Kiyemba, thwarted any improvement.

Kirya further cemented Gaddafi’s victory with a curled effort that eluded NEC’s goalkeeper.

This marks Gaddafi’s second win, following their earlier victory against Arua Hill away from home, reflecting their pride in securing a well-deserved win, particularly on rival turf.

For NEC, the defeat is a significant setback, marking their second loss of the season.

They’ll need to regroup to rediscover winning form in their upcoming fixtures.

Team Lineups

NEC FC – Samson Kirya GK, Marvin kavuma, Geoffrey Sserunkuma, Ibrahim Tembo, Sulaiman Ssesazi, Cromwell Rwothomio, Shamir Kimwero, Dhata Joseph, John Paul Acire, Rashid Okocha, Angello Ssempijja

Gaddafi FC – Andrew Ssekandi GK, Ibrahim Kiyemba, Ssengendo Sharifu, Steven Munguchi, Amos Kirya, Franco Magero Balabala, Frank Mulimi, Douglas Bithum, Johnson Odongo, Thomas Ochungo, Benson Muhindo



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *