Uganda Pulls Out of 2023 Netball Africa Cup

Shardiah Nassanga (Courtesy photo)

Uganda has withdrawn from the upcoming 2023 Netball Africa Cup, set to take place from November 28 to December 6 at the University of Botswana Indoor Facility.

Initially scheduled to field two teams – the She Cranes (Women) and The Rock (Men) – Uganda’s decision to abstain from the competition comes amidst a series of administrative challenges that have plagued the country’s netball scene in recent times.

The turbulence within the Uganda Netball Federation escalated earlier this month when the National Council of Sports withdrew its recognition certificate over concerns about accountability and administrative issues.

Subsequently, World Netball intervened by establishing a Normalisation Committee, led by Moses Mwase, President of the Swimming Federation.

This Committee has been entrusted with overseeing the day-to-day operations of the Uganda Netball Federation until new elections can be conducted.

Citing the complexities arising from the ongoing management turmoil, the Committee acknowledged the difficulty for Uganda in mobilizing its teams on short notice, leading to the unfortunate decision to withdraw from the tournament.

The absence of Uganda’s teams, particularly the She Cranes, who had been anticipated to engage in a fierce showdown, notably against South Africa – the team they triumphed over to secure a commendable fifth-place finish at the Netball World Cup – leaves a void in the competition.

Despite Uganda’s withdrawal, the Netball Africa Cup proceeds with formidable teams like defending champions South Africa, hosts Botswana, Burundi, Ghana, Kenya, Tanzania, Zambia, Malawi, Zimbabwe, and Namibia in the women’s category.

Meanwhile, the men’s category comprises five remaining teams – Kenya, Zambia, Zimbabwe, Botswana, and South Africa – all geared up to compete for the coveted title.

As the tournament approaches, the anticipation remains palpable for thrilling matches, although the absence of Uganda’s competitive presence is keenly felt.

Past Winners

2010: Malawi
2012: Malawi
2013: South Africa
2015: Zimbabwe
2017: Uganda
2018: Uganda
2019: South Africa
2021: South Africa



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *