Hosts Uganda Shift Focus To Women’s T20 World Cup Qualifiers

Officials during the launch of the Women’s T20 World Cup qualifiers in Entebbe. (Photo by Eddie Chicco)

The ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Qualifiers was officially launched on Friday at the Green Oval in Entebbe.

The eleven day tournament is scheduled to bowl off on 9th December, and will conclude on 17th in Entebbe.

The event will feature eight teams that have been divided into two groups. Group A has Zimbabwe the highest ranked team in the competition, Tanzania, Botswana and Kenya while Group B has Nigeria, Rwanda, Namibia and hosts Uganda.

The top two teams from the respective groups will advance to the semifinals, and from there, the two that will make the final will be the two that will represent Africa at the Global Qualifiers that will be held in Dubai.

Uganda will get their qualification started against neighbors Rwanda on 10th and will wrap up the group phase against Nigeria on 14th.

This qualifier is a pathway to next year’s T20 World Cup in Bangladesh.

The Victoria Pearls full fixtures.

10/12. Uganda vs Rwanda

12/12. Uganda vs Namibia

14/12. Uganda vs Nigeria



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *