Aziz Damani Development Wins League Unbeaten

Aziz Damani Development secured their maiden National Men’s 50 Over league title on Sunday after a 6-wicket win over Challengers at the Jinja Cricket Oval.

Development won the league in fashion after seeing out the season unbeaten. The side captained by Brian Masaba beat every team including Aziz Damani who had won the league five times in a row.

Development only earned their promotion to the top flight last season, but on their first time of asking, they came out champions.

Against Challengers, Henry Ssenyondo one of the returnees from the Cricket Cranes history making voyage in Namibia was an inspiration to the side.

The spinner returned a four wicket performance as Development concluded an invincible campaign in fashion.

Challengers were bowled out in the 30th Over with only 78/10 on board. Mohammed Sha (2), Pius Oloka (1), veteran Frank Nsubuga (1) and Masaba (1) all contributed to wicket taking for Development.

Steven Wabwose, Kenneth Waiswa and Aneef Mohammed scored the most runs for Challengers with 14,14 and 18 respectively.

Masaba with a 33 not out led the run chase that was completed in the 14.5 Overs. Fahad Mutagana 12, Robert Ajuna 14 and Oloka 10 not supported their skipper in that regard.

Development lost just four wickets in their chase. They finish the league with 17 points and a net run rate of 3.5935.

Damani settles for ssecon as they finish with a point less.

The third position is yet to be determined. Kutchi Tigers currently occupy that position with 10 points, and have one more game to go, but with Challengers having two more to go, they could snatch the position. Challengers are currently fifth with 8.

Both Avengers and Africa Cricket Club have been relegated to Div 2. Both sides have one more game to go, but both can not accumulate the kind of points required for survival even if they won their games.

Meanwhile Aziz Damani Ismaily and Tornado Bees have been promoted to Div. 1. Tornado Bees earn their promotion as Div. 2 champions.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *