Nine-man BUL Hold On For Point Against Express

Tuesday, December 5
•Express 1-1 BUL
•Bright Stars 1-1 SC Villa
•Arua Hill 2-2 Wakiso Giants

BUL managed to secure a point in a hard-fought 1-1 draw against Express despite having two players, Benon Tahomera (63′) and Walter Ochora (71′), sent off during the game at Wankulukuku.

Nicholas Mwere initially put BUL in the lead, but Isaac Wagoina equalized for Express from the penalty spot just before halftime.

Despite being two men down, BUL resisted Express’s attempts to capitalize on their advantage.

The match saw further drama as Assistant coach Simeone Masaba from Bul Technical team was also sent off, while head coach Abbey Bogere Kikomeko received a yellow card for repeated protests.

As a result of the draw, BUL now holds a five-point lead over second-placed Vipers, who are set to host third-placed Kitara at Kitende on Thursday.

Mwere initiated the proceedings when his deflected free-kick eluded Express goalkeeper Abdul Kimera to give BUL a lead after seven minutes.

However, Express we’re later awarded a contentious penalty when Mwere unintentionally kicked Emmanuel Wasswa while attempting to clear the ball. And Wagoina successfully converted the penalty just before halftime.

At the hour mark, Tahomera received his second yellow card for striking Timothy Ssenfuma, resulting in his second red card of the season.

BUL’s woes continued as Ochora was also shown his second yellow card, reducing them to nine men after he pulled Marvin Oshaba’s jersey.

Despite being down to nine men for approximately 20 minutes, BUL managed to hold on for a draw after Oshaba missed an opportunity to secure the win for Express, hitting the side net from a Ssenfuma assist.

What Next – Express will face SC Villa in a rescheduled Kampala derby this Friday. BUL have NEC on Sunday at Njeru.

Players Used

Express – Abdul Kimera, Arthur Kiggundu, Denis Otim, Derrick Ngoobi, Alpha Ssali, Emmanuel Wasswa, Andrew Kawooya, Isaac Wagoina, Ramzy Kawooya, Isma Kawawulo, Steven Ssenfuma

BUL – Tom Ikara, George Kasonko, Nicholas Mwere, Walter Ochora, Douglas Muganga, Jeromy Kirya, Hilary Onek, Shafik Kwikiriza, Martin Aprem, Alex Kitata, Benon Tahomera



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *