BUL Ends Vipers’ Unbeaten Streak at Kitende

BUL players in celebration (Jale Morgan photo)

Friday, December 22
•Bright Stars 2-1 UPDF
•SC Villa 1-2 KCCA
•Vipers 2-3 BUL

BUL secured a thrilling 3-2 victory over Vipers, marking Vipers’ first league defeat at Kitende in two years.

Goals from Nicholas Mwere, Lawrence Tezikya, and Ibrahim Mugulusi propelled BUL further ahead at the top, extending their lead by five points.

Yunus Sentamu and Salem Ekbad found the net for the Venoms who missed an opportunity to claim the top spot.

This loss signifies Vipers’ initial league defeat at Kitende since their 2-0 loss to URA on November 27, 2021, ending their 31-game unbeaten streak, with just six draws during that period at Kitende in the league.

BUL took the lead early through Nicholas Mwerenwho bundled in after Vipers failed to defend a corner in the seventh minute.

Facing his former team, Tezikya scored the second right before halftime, dispossessing Livingston Mulondo, beating the goalkeeper, and slotting in from a tight angle.

Despite a strong start to the second half by Vipers, reducing the deficit through Sentamu after six minutes, Mugulusi, assisted by substitute Alex Kitata, reinstated BUL’s two-goal advantage.

Ekbad’s header from Patrick Mbowa’s precise delivery in the 81st minute set up a tense finale for the game.

Vipers had a chance to equalize late on, but BUL’s goalkeeper, Tom Ikara, made a spectacular save to deny Bright Anukani’s free-kick destined for the top corner.

It’s a big response for BUL following consecutive draws against Express and NEC.

Vipers, aiming to rebound from a draw against Maroons, sit in second place with 24 points, just one point behind Kitara in third.

Next, Vipers will face Express on December 30 at Wankulukuku, while BUL takes on Busoga United on December 28 at Njeru.

Players Used

Vipers – Fabien Mutombora, Milton Karisa, Livingston Mulondo, Siraje Sentamu, Allan Okello, Bright Anukani, Yunus Sentamu, Paul Mbowa, Ashraf Mandela, Isa Mubiru, Karim Watambala

BUL – Tom Ikara, George Kasonko, Ronald Otti, Nicholas Mwere, Joel Madondo, Lawrence Tezikya, Douglas Muganga, Gerald Ogweti, Jeromy Kirya, Hillary Onek, Martin Aprem



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *