The Eight CAF Champions League Quarter-Finalists Known

Denis Onyango won the CAF Champions League with Mamelodi Sundowns

Five former champions headline the lineup for the 2023/24 CAF Champions League quarter-finals, with two Tanzanian teams also securing their spots in the last eight.

The quarter-finalists include Al Ahly (Egypt), TP Mazembe (DR Congo), Esperance (Tunisia), ASEC Mimosas (Cote d’Ivoire), Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa), Simba (Tanzania), Petro de Luanda (Angola), and Young Africans (Tanzania).

Defending champions Al Ahly sealed their quarter-final berth with a 1-0 victory over Young Africans, topping Group D with 12 points. Despite the loss, Young Africans secured second place in the group.

Mamelodi Sundowns claimed the top spot in Group A with 13 points after defeating TP Mazembe 1-0, while the Congolese side also advanced to the quarter-finals by finishing second in the group.

In Group B, ASEC Mimosas secured the top spot with 11 points despite losing to former champions Wydad Casablanca, who were eliminated following Simba’s commanding 6-0 victory over Jwaneng Galaxy.

Simba advanced to the quarter-finals alongside Wydad thanks to their superior record. Angola’s Petro de Luanda and Tunisia’s Esperance emerged as the qualifiers from Group C, with Petro de Luanda finishing atop the group with 12 points and Esperance securing second place with 11 points.

The Confederation of African Football (CAF) is expected to announce the date for the quarter-final draw in the coming days. The stage is set for an exciting knockout phase as these top teams vie for continental glory.

The quarter-final teams

  • Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa)
  • TP Mazembe (DR Congo)
  • ASEC Mimosas (Cote d’Ivoire)
  • Simba (Tanzania)
  • Petro de Luanda (Angola)
  • Esperance (Tunisia)
  • Al Ahly (Egypt)
  • Young Africans (Tanzania)



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *