Volleyball Cranes Final Squad To Kigali Named

Volleyball Cranes coach Shilla Omuriwe Buyungo has on Monday named the final squad of 14 players to represent Uganda at the upcoming 2021 African Volleyball Championship in Kigali, Rwanda.

Rwanda will host the African championships for men and women from September 5 to 20 at the Kigali Arena.

The new coach has revealed a final list of 14 from the initial 18 that were summoned on July 21 this year.

Of the 18, 16 have been training at the Old Kampala Arena while Moses Odeke and Ivan Ongom pulled out due to reported work commitments.

Nathan Okare Edulu (OBB) and Jonathan Tumukunde (Nemostars) have been dropped but will travel with the team to “pick a few lessons.”

“The 14 players have been selected after looking at their statistics and performance during the three weeks we have been in training,” Coach Omuriwe said on Monday.

“The boys are ready to compete, we have made pretty more strides in the area of defence and I am confident that we have made some progress.

“We are heading in Rwanda to compete and I believe we can reach the final.”

Team Manager Ahmed Kiggundu said that the team will be leaving on Friday and will be quarantined on arrival.

George Aporu will captain the team and will be deputized by Daudi Okello while Gideon Angiro, Brian Atuhaire and Emmanuel Okia are the three debutants on the team.

Uganda will be taking part in the tournament for the very first time!

Besides Uganda, other countries that will take part iinclude Rwanda, Burundi, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, DR Congo, EgypGamIvory Coast, Gambia, Guinea, Kenya, Mali, Morocco, Nigeria, Tanzania, Tunisia and Senegal among others.

The Final 14:

*Recievers – Gideon Angiro (KCCA), George Aporu (Nemostars), Brian Atuhaire (Sport-S), Allan Ejiet Olokotum (KAVC), Johnson Rukundo (Sport-S)

*Middle Blockers – Sam Engwau (VVC), Bernard Malinga (Nemostars), Emmanuel Okia (Ndejje), Dickens Otim (Sport-S).

*Setters – Marino Oboke (Sport-S), Smith Okumu (Nemostars),

*Right Attackers – Daudi Okello

*Liberos – Emma Elanyu (Nemostars), Sharif Nabanji (OBB)



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *