Uganda Reveals Squads for Safari 7s

Uganda has officially announced the squads for the upcoming Safari 7s set to be held at Nairobi’s RFUEA Ground from November 17-19.

The men’s lineup, led by Head Coach Tolbert Onyango, will see Aaron Ofoyrwoth and Adrian Kasito as captains.

Meanwhile, the Lady Cranes, Uganda’s women’s team, will be led by Peace Lekuru.

Notably, Gertrude Kateesa and Unity Namulala will make their national team debuts.

The Safari Sevens is an annual rugby sevens tournament hosted in Nairobi, Kenya.

It is inclusive, welcoming international representative sides, professional and amateur clubs, invitational teams, university, and school teams.

This edition marks the return of the tournament since 2021, when Kenya’s Shujaa emerged as the winner, defeating Germany 12-5 in the cup finals.

Hosts Kenya are set to field three sides – Shujaa, Morans, and KCB. Additionally, Uganda, Zimbabwe, Zambia, Germany, Qatar, Samurai, Red Wailers, Apache, and Tropic 7s have confirmed their participation.

For the women’s event, five teams have confirmed participation, including two Kenya Lionesses squads, Uganda, TUKS Women, and Tropic 7s.

Players Summoned

Men – Aaron Ofoyrwoth, Davis Shimwa, Mark Osuna, Alex Aturinda, Timothy Mugisha, Pius Ogena, Isaac Massanganzira, Aaron Tukei, Adriano Kasito, William Nkore, Roy Kizito, Nobert Okeny

Women – Agnes Nakuya (Thunderbirds), Lydia Namabiro (Black Pearls), Sarah Kirabo (Avengers), Yvone Najjuma (Thunderbirds), Grace Nabaggala (Lady Pacers), Mayimuna Nassozi (Avengers), Lona Sandra Amoli (Thunderbirds), Peace Lekuru (Avengers), Ritta Nadunga (Black Pearls), Rachael Mufuwa (Black Pearls), Gertrude Kateesa Junior (Lady Pacers), Unity Namulala (Nile Rapids)



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *