Silverbacks Squad for 2025 Afrobasket Qualifiers Named

Silverbacks Fixture:
Feb 23 – Cape Verde
Feb 24 – Nigeria
Feb 25 – Morocco/Libya

FUBA has confirmed the squad for Uganda Men’s national basketball team, the Silverbacks, for the 2025 Afrobasket Qualifiers.

Comprising 13 players, the team is gearing up for the first window of the Qualifiers scheduled to take place in Hammamet, Tunisia from February 23rd to 25th.

In Group B, Uganda will face tough competition from Cape Verde, Nigeria, and the Zone 1/2 winner of the Morocco-Libya clash. The latter two countries are set to battle it out in two-legged matches on February 18th and 20th, after Algeria pulled out of the pre-qualifiers.

Looking ahead, Uganda will encounter the same formidable opponents in February 2025 at a venue yet to be confirmed for the last window. The stakes are high, as only the top three teams from the Qualifiers will secure a spot in the prestigious 2025 Afrobasket, the host of which has not yet been announced.

The 13-man squad comprises a mix of talent, with seven players based locally and five plying their trade abroad.

Notably, Ishmail Wainright, who previously played for NBA side Portland Trailblazers before he was waived last month, makes a return to the Silverbacks squad, adding depth and experience.

However, Captain Jimmy Enabu is out due to work commitments and Arthur Kaluma will also miss out on the action due to commitments with his college side, Kansas City.

Reflecting on their previous performance, the Silverbacks we’re eliminated by Cape Verde at the Quarterfinals of the 2021 Afrobasket in Kigali, Rwanda and rallied to secure a commendable sixth-place finish, their highest ever.

With determination and talent on their side, the Uganda Silverbacks are poised to make a strong impression in the upcoming Afrobasket Qualifiers, aiming to secure their ticket to the pinnacle of African basketball.

The Silverbacks Squad:

  1. Ivan Muhwezi (City Oilers)
  2. Fayed Baale (City Oilers)
  3. James Okello (City Oilers)
  4. Tony Drilleba (City Oilers)
  5. Stanley Mugerwa (KIU Titans)
  6. Titus Lual Odeke (City Oilers)
  7. Edgar Munaaba (KIU Titans)
  8. Joel Kayiira (UCU Canons)
  9. Robinson Opong
  10. Emmanuel Womala
  11. Adam Seiko
  12. Ishmail Wainwright
  13. Brandon Ssebirumbi

Coaches – Mande Juruni (Kepler University, Rwanda) and Andrew Tendo (City Oilers)



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *