WATCH: St Julian Beat Amus To Win Maiden USSSA Football Title

St Julian are 2024 CHAMPIONS (Photo by SportsLens)

Sunday, May 5
*FINAL: Amus College 0-3 St Julian
*3rd Place: St Mary’s Kitende 1-0 Bukedea Comprehensive
*5th Place: Kisozi Seed (5)1-1(3) Blessed Sacrament Kimanya

Individual Awards:

*Best goalkeeper – Denis Mugerwa (St Mary’s Kitende)
*Top Scorer – Hakim Musaaba (Amus College) – 11 goals
*MVP – Isma Magala (Blessed Sacrament Kimanya)

St Julian Champions – Watch goals here:

St. Julian Seeta clinched their first USSSA Boys Football Championship title in Masaka with a commanding 3-0 victory over Amus College on Sunday.

James Sekatte netted twice, while Simon Wanyama converted a penalty to secure the win for St. Julian at Masaka SS ground.

Sekatte broke the deadlock after the 15th minute, slotting home from a rebound before adding his second just two minutes later with a composed finish.

In the second half, Amus College’s captain, Toto Najub, was shown a red card for a handball, resulting in a penalty that Wanyama calmly dispatched.

This triumph marks a significant milestone for St. Julian, who made their debut appearance in the tournament.

Amus College, who ousted defending champions St. Mary’s Stadium Kitende in the semi-finals via a shootout, had to petition their way back into contention twice in earlier rounds.

Despite losing to Jinja SS in shootouts in the round of 16, Amus successfully petitioned for a rematch, eventually progressing to the quarter-finals.

Their journey continued with another successful petition after a defeat to Jinja Progressive Academy in the quarter-finals, allowing them to advance to the semi-finals.

St Julian beat hosts Masaka SS and Bukedea Comprehensive in Quarter and Semifinals respectively to reach this stage.

Past Winners

2024: St Julian Seeta (Masaka)
2023: St Mary’s Kitende (Fort Portal)
2022: St Mary’s Kitende (Arua)
2021: COVID-19
2020: COVID-19
2019: St Mary’s SS Kitende (Host: Jinja, Jinja College)
2018: Buddo S.S (Host: Mbarara, Mbarara High)
2017: Jinja S.S (Host: Masaka, Masaka SS)
2016: Kibuli SS (Host: Soroti, Teso College Aloet)
2015: St Mary’s SS Kitende (Host: Hoima, Duhaga S.S)
2014: Kibuli SS (Host: Gulu, St Joseph College, Layibi)
2013: St Mary’s SS Kitende (Kabale, Kigezi College)
2012: St Mary’s SS Kitende (Tororo, Rock High School)
2011: St Mary’s SS Kitende (Arua, Mvara S.S)
2010: Bishop Nankyama (Masaka, St Henry’s Kitovu)
2009: Buddo S.S (Fort Portal, St Leo’s Kyegobe)
2008: St Mary’s SS Kitende (Arua, Mvara SS) *Started as Copa Coca Cola Cup
2007: St Mary’s SS Kitende (Host: Jinja, Jinja S.S) *Coca Cola Cup
2006: St Mary’s SS Kitende (Host: Masindi, Kabalega SS) *Coca Cola Cup
2005: Kibuli S.S (Host: Masaka, Masaka SS) *Coca Cola
2004: St Mary’s SS Kitende (Host: Mbarara – Ntare School) *Coca Cola Cup
2003: Old Kampala (Host: Lira, Lango College) *Coca Cola Cup
2002: Nagalama Islamic (Host: Soroti, Teso College, Aloet) * Coca Cola Cup
2001: Ngabo Academy (Host: Kabale, Kabale S.S) *Coca Cola Cup
2000: Kibuli (Host: Mbale, Mbale S.S) *Coca Cola Cup
1999: Old Kampala (Host: Masindi, Kabalega S.S) *Coca Cola Cup
1998: Kibuli (Host: Jinja, Jinja S.S) *Coca Cola Cup
1997: St Leo’s Kyegobe (Host: Mbarara, Mbarara High) *Coca Cola Cup
1996: Kibuli (Host: Masaka, Masaka SS) *Started as Coca Cola Cup
1995: Kibuli (Host: Mbale, Mbale SS) *NPP Cup
1994: Lubiri S.S (Host: Lira, Lango College) *NPP Cup
1993: Kibuli S.S (Host: Mbarara, Ntare School) *NPP Cup
1992: Kibuli SS (Host: Kampala, Kibuli SS) * UTV Cup
1991: Kibuli S.S (Host: Kampala) *UTV Cup
1990: Kololo S.S (Host: Kampala) *UTV Cup
1989: Kibuli S.S (Host: Kampala) *UTV Cup
1988: Kololo (Host: Kampala) *UTV Cup
1987: Kololo S.S (Host: Kampala) *UTV Cup
1986: Kololo S.S (Host: Kampala) *UTV Cup



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *