Volleyball: Four Debutants Summoned In Provisional National Team Squad

The Men’s National Volleyball team has been summoned on Wednesday ahead of upcoming engagements.

The provisional squad of 18 was confirmed by new coach Shilla Omuriwe at Uganda Volleyball Offices in Lugogo.

The team include four debutants – Gideon Angiro, Brian Atuhaire, Nathan Okare and Emmanuel Okia.

The team will be entering camp next week ahead of the World Championship Zonal Qualifiers due 16-19 August in either Rwanda or Tunisia.

“Its an honour to be selected as the head coach,” started coach Omuriwe. “I have worked with men’s sides before and I am excited and looking forward for this new challenge. Its the task am ready to take on.”

“We are hoping to get them in camp next week. There is less time to prepare but we hope to do the best we can during that time.”

Omuriwe will work alongside Luke Eitit as the assistant while Nason Bwesigye and Chris Womukota are the consultant and Performance analyst respectively.

George Aporu will captain the team and will be deputized by Daudi Okello.

The final team of 14 players will be named before the Qualifiers.

The Summoned Squad:
Gideon Angiro (KCCA), George Aporu (Nemostars), Brian Atuhaire (Sport-S), Allan Ejiet Olokotum (KAVC), Emma Elanyu (Nemostars), Sam Engwau (VVC), Bernard Malinga (Nemostars), Sharif Nabanji (OBB), Marino Oboke (Sport-S), Moses Odeke (Nemostars), Nathan Okare Edulu (OBB), Daudi Okello, Emmanuel Okia (Ndejje), Smith Okumu (Nemostars), Ivan Ongom, Dickens Otim (Sport-S), Johnson Rukundo (Sport-S), Jonathan Tumukunde (Nemostars)



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *